Home Up Mail an Joachim Pimiskern Impressum

A semantic network

Last change: 05-Dec-2011   Deutsche Version

Here's a semantic network for download. Status: freeware. Please use the right mouse button, "Save as" or similar.

Download semantic network cluster_public.txt (text, ca. 15 MB)    cluster_public.zip (zipped text, ca. 2.5 MB)

You probably found this site since you got to cluster_public.txt via a search engine. This is a semantic network.

For the sake of simplicity the kinds of relationships between the symbols (the edges of the graph) are not distinguished. In many other semantic networks, edges are given a meaning, e.g. "is-a", "is-opposite-of" etc, but in this case this was not possible, since the network is too big.

In this context, the one and only relationship type means "has-something-to-do-with", which is a generalization of all other relationships.

File syntax

Records are sequences of non-empty lines. Between the records are one or more empty lines. Within a record, each line contains one word (or symbol, which means the same here). When you build up a graph from the file, all pairs symbols of a record have to be connected with each other.

Graphical representationTextual representation
A semantic network
FACE
NOSE

FACE
EAR

FACE
EYE

FACE
MOUTH

MOUTH
DRINK
EAT

DRINK
THIRST

EAT
HUNGER
FOOD

THIRST
HUNGER

THIRST
WATER

WATER
SOUP

SOUP
FOOD

FOOD
BREAD

Suggestion for programming: one object instance for each symbol Every symbol should get a list of pointers to the neighbour symbols. A hashtable would be appropriate to map the symbol strings to their object instances.

Philosophy

At the first glance, a symbol is nothing different from a number. "Water" is a list of five characters, just like xzjsd. To endow a symbol with meaning, it has to be embedded in an associative context of other symbols, for example liquid, wet etc.

Cultural aspects

Most of the words in the semantic network are in German. Although there are many foreign words contained, e.g. in English, it would be a good idea to translate a word you are searching for into German and then search in the graph for this translated word.

For example, the word Go is used in German only for the board game (aka weiqi, baduk). Someone who searches for words that are asociated with the English word "go" (the verb "to go") should translate this word into German first ("gehen") and then search for associations of gehen.



Related work

Wortschatz - Uni Leipzig
ConceptNet
Moby
Automatic Meaning Discovery Using Google (Rudi Cilibrasi, Paul Vitanyi)
WEBSOM - Self-Organizing Maps for Internet Exploration
OpenThesaurus
Finding words through spreading activation (Principia Cybernetica Web)
SEMAGER (Semantische Suchmaschine)
Automatisch berechnete Kollokationen aus dem DWDS Kerncorpus (lemmabasiert)
GlobalMind (MIT Medialab)
Garnoo (Stefan Ram)
Woxikon Synonyme
Some Ongoing KBS/Ontology Projects and Groups (Peter Clark)

Home Up Mail an Joachim Pimiskern Impressum

Home Up Mail an Joachim Pimiskern Impressum

Ein semantisches Netz

Letzte Änderung: 05.12.2011  English version

Hier gibt es ein semantisches Netz zum Download. Status: Freeware. Bitte verwenden Sie den rechten Maus-Button, "Ziel speichern unter" oder dergleichen.

Download Semantisches Netz cluster_public.txt (Text, ca. 15MB)    cluster_public.zip (gezippt ca. 2,5MB)

Sie fanden möglicherweise hierher, weil Sie mit einer Suchmaschine auf cluster_public.txt gestoßen sind. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein semantisches Netz.

Der Einfachkeit halber werden die Beziehungsarten zwischen den Symbolen (die Kanten des Graphen) nicht weiter unterschieden. Bei vielen anderen semantischen Netzen ist es üblich, Kanten eine Bedeutung zu geben, z.B. "ist-ein", "ist-Gegenteil-von" usw., aber bei der Menge der Assoziationen war eine Benennung der Kanten nicht möglich.

Hier wird implizit die Beziehung "hat irgendetwas zu tun mit" verwendet.

Aufbau der Datei

Datensätze sind Folgen nichtleerer Zeilen. Zwischen den Datensätzen sind eine oder mehrere Leerzeilen. Innerhalb eines Datensatzes befinden sich je Zeile je ein Wort bzw. Symbol. Alle Symbole eines Datensatzes sind paarweise miteinander zu verknüpfen.

Graphische RepräsentationTextuelle Repräsentation
Ein semantisches Netz
GESICHT
NASE

GESICHT
OHR

GESICHT
AUGE

GESICHT
MUND

MUND
TRINKEN
ESSEN

TRINKEN
DURST

ESSEN
HUNGER
NAHRUNG

DURST
HUNGER

DURST
WASSER

WASSER
SUPPE

SUPPE
NAHRUNG

NAHRUNG
BROT

Vorschlag für die Programmierung: eine Objektinstanz für jedes Symbol. Jedes Objekt hat eine Liste von Zeigern auf die Nachbarsymbole. Eine Hashtabelle wird dazu verwendet, um Symbol-Strings auf ihre Objekte abzubilden.

Philosophie

Ein Symbol ist so etwas wie eine Zahl. 'Wasser' ist zunächst eine Liste von 6 Zeichen, nicht anders als xzjsdy. Um diesem Symbol eine Bedeutung zu verleihen, wird es mit anderen Symbolen assoziiert, z.B. mit Flüssigkeit, naß usw. Die assoziative Einbettung verleiht einem Symbol seine Bedeutung.

Kulturelle Aspekte

Die meisten Wörter im semantischen Netz sind deutsch. Obwohl auch Fremdwörter, z.B. auf Englisch, enthalten sind, ist es die richtige Vorgehensweise, zunächst in einem Wörterbuch nachzuschlagen und dann erst das Wort im Netz zu suchen.

Beispielsweise wird das Wort Go im Deutschen nur für ein Brettspiel (Weiqi, Baduk) verwendet. Jemand, der Wörter sucht, die mit dem englischen Wort 'go' (to go) assoziiert sind, sollte dieses Wort zunächst ins Deutsche übersetzen (gehen) und dann nach gehen suchen. Die assoziierten Wörter sollte er dann ins Englische übersetzen.



Verwandte Projekte

Wortschatz - Uni Leipzig
ConceptNet
Moby
Automatic Meaning Discovery Using Google (Rudi Cilibrasi, Paul Vitanyi)
WEBSOM - Self-Organizing Maps for Internet Exploration
OpenThesaurus
Finding words through spreading activation (Principia Cybernetica Web)
SEMAGER (Semantische Suchmaschine)
Automatisch berechnete Kollokationen aus dem DWDS Kerncorpus (lemmabasiert)
GlobalMind (MIT Medialab)
Garnoo (Stefan Ram)
Woxikon Synonyme
Some Ongoing KBS/Ontology Projects and Groups (Peter Clark)

Home Up Mail an Joachim Pimiskern Impressum